Christina Darras: Impossible Bodies

Next date: Saturday, 22 June 2024 | 10:00 AM to 02:00 PM

Impossible Bodies 600x400.png

Life is in constant flux. Migration, Covid and ageing were factors of change in Christina Darras’s life. Darras had to reinvent a new reality, with new rules and values. We endlessly invent new languages and vocabularies to be able to communicate.

As the body changes and the mind adjusts, Impossible Bodies depicts a series of changes internally and externally. Some happen as evolution and a need to adapt, and some occur abruptly through loss and grief. New flexibility is invented, and bodies transform into Impossible bodies—like extreme acrobats performing in a void scene.

Presented by: South Side Festival, Frankston Arts Centre, and Christina Darras

About the Artist

Christina Darras is an interdisciplinary artist of Athenian Greek origin. Darras is a maker, an artist whose practice strongly connects to the handmade and lengthy processes. She employs a variety of materials to approach issues of identity and non-identity: While identity unifies or divides people, Non-identity is a place with undefined borders. She is attracted to hand-based methods and connects with the humility and lonesomeness of time-consuming craftsmanship. In her practice, she combines painting, embroidery, printmaking, jewellery and installations to define the intermediate space, a transitional area, of an undefined self.  

Christina has studied painting at the Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts in Paris, France, and Printmaking at Central St. Martins College of Art and Design in London. She lived most of her life in Athens and moved to Melbourne in 2016, and in 2021, she graduated from VCA with a Master's in Contemporary Art. Her practice has influences from all the different countries and cultures that she has lived in. Although her making is long and solitary, Darras constantly creates collaborations with artists from the same or very different disciplines, experimenting with dialogues between materials and altered languages. The space of not belonging is the one that she inhabits the most.  

    

When

  • Friday, 10 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 11 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 14 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 15 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 16 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 17 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 18 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 21 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 22 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 23 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 24 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 25 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 28 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 29 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 30 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 31 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 01 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 04 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 05 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 06 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 07 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 08 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 11 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 12 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 13 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 14 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 15 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 18 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 19 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 20 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 21 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 22 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 25 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 26 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 27 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 28 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 29 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 02 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 03 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 04 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 05 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 06 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 09 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 10 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 11 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 12 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 13 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 16 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 17 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 18 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 19 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 20 July 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM

Location

Mezzanine Gallery, Frankston Arts Centre, 27-37 Davey Street, Frankston, 3199, View Map

Google Map

Add to Calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email Address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.

Occurrence Pattern*(Required)

This event occurs every weekday for 21 times.