The Huxleys: Gender Fluids

Next date: Friday, 31 May 2024 | 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM

Gender-Fluids-600x400.png

Gender Fluids pays tribute to the ingenuity and resilience of the natural world by honouring the gender fluidity of specific sea creatures and capturing their luminescent glory in playful, sparkling tableaus. The exhibition features photography, costume and video art by The Huxleys. 

Presented by: South Side Festival and The Huxleys

About the Artists

Will and Garrett Huxley (Aus/Gumbaynggirr/Yorta Yorta) are Melbourne-based collaborative performance and visual artists. Who work together as The Huxleys.  

The Huxleys are a dynamic duo of cataclysmic proportion who present camp commentary and spectacle across the visual art, performance and entertainment sectors. Their photography and performance art traverses the classifications of costume, film and recording. A visual assault of sparkle, surrealism and the absurd, The Huxleys saturate their practice and projects with a glamorous, androgynous freedom which sets out to bring some escapism and magic to everyday life.  

Since 2014 The Huxleys have performed, exhibited and participated in numerous exhibitions, projects and events in Australia, and internationally in London, Berlin, Moscow and Hong Kong. Solo presentations, performances and commissions include the Melbourne International Arts Festival; Melbourne Fashion Week; Sydney Contemporary; Hong Kong Design Week; Heide Museum of Modern Art; Art Bank, Melbourne; NGV; AGNSW; QAGOMA; AGSA; AGWA and the National Portrait Gallery, Canberra; The Huxleys first came to prominence during the early years of MONA FOMA and Dark Mofo in Tasmania.

Photography

Gender Fluids, originally commissioned for PHOTO 22

Image credit The Huxleys, A STAR IS BORN

   

When

  • Saturday, 11 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 14 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 15 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 16 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 17 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 18 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 21 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 22 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 23 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 24 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 25 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 28 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 29 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 30 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 31 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 01 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 04 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 05 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 06 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 07 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 08 June 2024 | 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM

Location

Cube 37 Glass Cube and Foyer Gallery, 37 Davey Street, Frankston, 3199, View Map

Google Map

Add to Calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email Address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.

Occurrence Pattern*(Required)

This event occurs every weekday for 7 times.